Johannes Brahms – Complete Symphonies – Pubblico Dominio

Johannes Brahms (7 May 1833 – 3 April 1897) was a German composer and pianist, and one of the leading musicians of the Romantic period. Born in Hamburg, Brahms spent much of his professional life in Vienna, Austria, where he was a leader of the musical scene. In his lifetime, Brahms’ popularity and influence were considerable; following a comment by the nineteenth-century conductor Hans von Bülow, he is sometimes grouped with Johann Sebastian Bach and Ludwig van Beethoven as one of the Three Bs. Brahms composed for piano, chamber ensembles, symphony orchestra, and for voice and chorus. A virtuoso pianist, he premiered many of his own works; he also worked with some of the leading performers of his time, including the pianist Clara Schumann and the violinist Joseph Joachim.


Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, Op. 68


Symphony_No._1_in_C_Minor__Op._68_-_I._Un_poco_sostenuto_-_Allegro.ogg 17,582,775
Symphony_No._1_in_C_Minor__Op._68_-_II._Andante_sostenuto.ogg 10,020,216
Symphony_No._1_in_C_Minor__Op._68_-_III._Un_poco_allegretto_e_grazioso.ogg 5,777,805
Symphony_No._1_in_C_Minor__Op._68_-_IV._Adagio_-_Più_andante_-_Allegro_non_troppo__ma_con_brio.ogg 19,830,920


Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 73


Symphony_No._2_in_D_Major__Op._73_-_I._Allegro_non_troppo.ogg 18,956,930
Symphony_No._2_in_D_Major__Op._73_-_II._Adagio_non_toppo.ogg 10,630,685
Symphony_No._2_in_D_Major__Op._73_-_III._Allegretto_Grazioso.ogg 5,701,720
Symphony_No._2_in_D_Major__Op._73_-_IV._Allegro_Con_Spirito.ogg 11,087,386


Symphony No. 3 in F Major, Op. 90


Symphony_No._3_in_F_Major__Op._90_-_I._Allegro_con_brio.ogg 11,562,384
Symphony_No._3_in_F_Major__Op._90_-_II._Andante.ogg 10,137,234
Symphony_No._3_in_F_Major__Op._90_-_III._Poco_allegretto.ogg 7,154,638

Symphony no. 4 in Em [Op. 98]

The Symphony No. 4 in E minor, Op. 98 by Johannes Brahms is the last of hissymphonies. Brahms began working on the piece in Mürzzuschlag. then in the Austro-Hungarian Empire, in 1884, just a year after completing his Symphony No. 3, and completed it in 1885. The symphony is scored for two flutes (one doubling on piccolo), two oboes, two clarinets, twobassoons, contrabassoon, four horns, two trumpets, three trombones, timpani, triangle (third movement only), and strings.

Symphony_No._4_in_E_Minor__Op._98_-_I._Allegro_Non_Troppo.ogg 14,663,182
Symphony_No._4_in_E_Minor__Op._98_-_II._Andante_Moderato.ogg 12,882,251
Symphony_No._4_in_E_Minor__Op._98_-_III._Allegro_Giocoso.ogg 7,185,161
Symphony_No._4_in_E_Minor__Op._98_-_IV._Allegro_Energico_e_Passionato.ogg 12,761,071


Pubblico Dominio